Author Topic: Athchomar chomakea. Hake anne Jasati.  (Read 5219 times)

Jasi

• Koalakeesi
    • View Profile
Athchomar chomakea. Hake anne Jasati.
« on: March 13, 2013, 09:37:45 am »
Athchomar chomakea.  Hake anne Jasati.  Anha jasak hajinaan mezhilak erin asti.  Anha, zhey Jasati, atak nesolaan Dothraki.

Hello everyone; I know I probably made plenty of mistakes, but I hope I did okay for my first attempt (this is my first time learning a conlag).  I built my name using the examples David gave on his blog, instead of with the Wiki.  If I got this wrong... well, I hope I can still change it.  :P

I went with, "jasak" because I couldn't find a word in the English to Dothraki dictionary purely for laugh, and the rule in tutorial 1 to reduce a word to its base was to drop to be (at/lat).  I tagged, "-ak" at the end because I've noticed it tends to follow Anha (i.e. anha qiyak, anha sajak, etc.).  "me-" before zhilak because it follows hajinaan, and I couldn't find "to love something" so I chose "to love someone".  I used erin asti because asti seemed an acceptable root of astilat (or would it just be ast?).  That's the sentence I had the most difficulty with, and would greatly appreciate it if someone could come along and give me a play-by-play of what I've said.

"I was shooting for, "Respect to those that are respected.  My name is Jasati.  I am (laughter) because I love a good joke.  I, Jasati, will learn Dothraki."
« Last Edit: March 13, 2013, 12:28:00 pm by Jasati »

ingsve

• Administrator
  • Student of the stars
    • View Profile
Re: Athchomar chomakea. Hake anne Jasati.
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 01:10:34 pm »
To begin with when forming names from verbs you generally drop the verb ending so a name from jasat (to laugh) would usually be jasi or jassi for females and jaso or jasso for males.