Author Topic: Help needed for a senior thesis  (Read 9565 times)

jojinu

• Dothraki Fan
    • View Profile
Help needed for a senior thesis
« on: March 13, 2013, 09:09:38 am »
Hello there forum!

I'm writing a thesis on constructed languages and Dothraki and since I have some doubts I though to ask the experts!  ;D

I'm a newbie, obviously, and while looking at the wiki page for season one's Dothraki dialogue, I found a sentence that I don't understand... I mean, I do understand it, but I don't know why there's a case instead of another.

The sentence is:

Affin shekh yola she jimma ma drivoe she titha / When sun rises from the west and sets in the east

I was wondering why jimma and titha are in their nominative case and not in their ablative/allative form; I know that there is she, which in this case convey the nominative, but why?

I know that this may be a stupid question, but I don't understand... maybe also because I'm one of the few Italians who has never studied Latin, my bad.

Jasi

• Koalakeesi
    • View Profile
Re: Help needed for a senior thesis
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 10:08:28 am »
Sorry to get you excited if you thought this was someone answering your question (I'm as new as you are).  But wouldn't east and west be lowercase (I'm unfamiliar with nominative versus ablative) because only the direction is specified, not the location?  I'm talking about the difference between a relative geographical direction versus a specific region/culture/ethnicity.

The wind blew from the east.

The man came from the East.

In those examples east is used a general direction, while East in English indicates that this man is from a specific location relative to the speaker's.  So... they would be nominative, wouldn't they?

I could just not know what I'm talking about.  I tend to stick my nose into conversations I have no business being in.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2013, 10:11:20 am by Jasati »

jojinu

• Dothraki Fan
    • View Profile