Author Topic: Help needed  (Read 4471 times)

Lemlongspear

• Dothraki Fan
    • View Profile
Help needed
« on: April 13, 2016, 04:41:39 am »
Hi all im new to this and am struggling alot so thought this would be a good place to get some help.
Im currently translating a section of text for a dothraki voiceover on a video. The problem i have had is i cannot find translations for certain words so have been trying to come up with alternative ways of saying the same thing.

The text im trying to translate is as follows

"Eat, Sleep, Drink, worship, surrender to game of thrones"

Translation
"Adakhat, Remekat, Indelat, Chomolat, Alloshat yeri ki vilajerosh adori nakhaan"

I could not find a literal translation for "worship" so have used to respect/honour instead
Also could not find a word for surrender so have tried to go down the route of "to give yourself completly to game of thrones" i realise ive probably got this completly wrong but am finding myself going round in circles with it so thought id seek help on here 

Hrakkar

• Administrator
  • Dothraki Fan
    • View Profile
Re: Help needed
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2016, 12:02:37 am »
Not bad for a first try!
I'll need to look a little closer at this when there is more time. The biggest thing needed might be a little tweaking on noun cases.

The lack of a word for 'worchip' is interesting and kind of unexpected, considering how often the concept is actually used. But I don't remember seeing one, either. I might just ask David Peterson about that.

I'm afraid I can't help you with your Valyrian questions. Because activity has dropped so low here, I don't think they check very frequently.
Don't tell Khal Drogo I am here ;)

Khal_Qana

• Dothraki fan looking for some friends to talk to
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2016, 11:20:15 pm »
M'ath!

Good job translating as a beginner, but there's one key component you forgot to use in you statement; the imperative mood.